A surprise party

Recently a friend put it this way; “We pray to God requesting 1 balloon and He shows up with 20!”  It’s true, God is very much in the business of throwing us surprise parties and we need to look with expectation for them and embrace them.

Romans 8:26 (NIV) says it best: “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.”

A few weeks back there was a family emergency that took me out of work for 3 days – unpaid. Bills still needed paid, groceries bought and gas for car, but how would I be able to do this with less income? I trusted God to take care of this but I was overcome with fear on the how to.  I called a faithful prayer warrior and asked that she pray on my behalf. I needed intercessory prayer because where my faith was lacking hers was strong.  Her comment at the end gave me hope. “I can’t wait to hear what God does that blows your mind.”

In the days to come I would be running back and forth from the hospital to home which meant a lot of eating out and Starbucks to keep me awake.  I didn’t have time to balance my checkbook, which I love to do at least 2 time a week. Finally things slowed down and I was able to get things in order and balance ol faithful. Sitting with a pile of receipts of recent transactions and my checkbook register, I began to write the long-awaited list of purchases.  With each transaction entered, the balance grew less and less.  I could feel the pit in my stomach dropping with each entry. Now it was the time to open the bank website and see if my totals matched.

Wait what????

My balance was almost $400 different.  The bank showed that I had MORE money than my calculations.  How could this be?  I remembered the comment my friend made and so I asked God was this indeed from Him?  I was baffled! How could a few days of not tracking funds end up in my favor by this much?  I remember hearing a whisper (this is how God speaks to me) saying, “trust me in this.” I decided to withdrawal a few bucks for small spending and let the money sit in the account in the event I had missed something and it would come out in the days to come.  With 3 weeks passing, the money remained. Being a former bank teller I decided to go back and track each penny. As I started, I heard a whisper that again said, “trust me.”  And so, I added the total to my account and praised God for the amazing surprise party he threw in my favor.

James 1:2 confirms we will indeed face trials in life “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds,”  and Romans 12:12 tells us what to do in them, “Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.”

When we seek God in our ways He is faithful to provide. It may not always be in the form or fashion we think but know this, it is always best and better than we could have ever dreamed.

Now go look for your surprise!

2himigo – Amanda

One thought on “A surprise party

Leave a comment