A Strong Women – My Momma

Image

As I reflected on Mother’s day and how thankful I am to be in the “mommy club”, I began to think about my mom and how this day must be bitter sweet for her.

A mother she is but a reminder that she has a child who has passed away.
A mother she has but a reminder that her mom has passed away too.

As I pondered on these things, I began to realize how extremely strong my mom is. She is a woman who became a single parent at a very young age. Then married in a not so good marriage and had another amazing child – Me! Life was not easy for her to say the least. Working two jobs to provide for her family meant long hours on her feet and many hours away from her family. A divorce to follow and a re-marriage to my step dad. Through her struggles she worked hard for what was needed and continued moving forward.

Mom has worked hard starting as a waitress to now an outside sales rep for an amazing company. (This girl got to go to Mexico with this company so yes, they are amazing!) She also worked summers at a church camp in the kitchen – work; now that is hard work! Mom has taught me the value of working hard for what you want and putting your best foot forward and never giving up!

Then in what felt like a world wind and all too close to each other, we lost my dad, her mom and Angie, her oldest daughter. At a time when she could have fallen to 1,000 pieces, she remained strong. How, I will never know! Sure, grief overcame her like a mountain falling but she moved one foot in front of the other. She became a Nana shortly after and remained focused on loving out, rather than closing in.

It makes me so proud to say that she continued moving forward and found a hobby – Running. She joined a small group and ran and ran and ran! Not only did that make her outer stronger, it made her inner stronger as well. She has now completed several 5 & 10K’s but also marathons. Just this month she completed her 2nd Blue Ridge ½ Marathon. Go Mom!

A giver she is and not for what she receives in return.

She has been my emotional support at times when I didn’t think I could go on. A financial support when I was young trying to get on my feet. She has encouraged me to be a fighter and stand for what is right. And lucky her, this comes back on her now that I am an adult. HA

She has strength, focus, determination and courage.

Mom –

I am so proud of who you are and all you have done.
Thank you for never giving up!
Thank you for setting the example to pass on.
Thank you for being my forever friend!

XOXO – Amanda

One thought on “A Strong Women – My Momma

Leave a comment