My Red Sea

What an amazing sight of God’s power we see displayed when He parted the Red Sea for the Israelite’s to escape the Egyptians after leaving Egypt.

 “Then Moses stretched out his hand over the sea, and all that night the Lord drove the sea back with a strong east wind and turned it into dry land. The waters were divided, 22 and the Israelite’s went through the sea on dry ground, with a wall of water on their right and on their left.” ~Exodus 14:21-22

As I continued reading this amazing story of a hero and such love for His people, I was taken back at the now lack of trust the Israelites were showing towards God.

“That night all the members of the community raised their voices and wept aloud. All the Israelites grumbled against Moses and Aaron, and the whole assembly said to them, “If only we had died in Egypt! Or in this wilderness!” ~Numbers 14:1-2

After witnessing firsthand the mighty power of God and how he protected them, the Israelite’s still doubted God. 

My thoughts were these people must be crazy! 

How could they have forgotten ALL that God had done for them??

It’s so much easier to see blindness in others before we see it in ourselves.  That’s why Matthew 7:5 instructs us to “first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

The reality for so many of us is we too forget all that God has done for us.  And so we grumble and complain day after day. 

How does this affect God?   

“The Lord said to Moses, “How long will these people treat me with contempt? How long will they refuse to believe in me, in spite of all the signs I have performed among them?” ~Numbers 14:11

It was then that I asked God, “Remind me of when you parted my Red Sea?”

As John 16:33 tells us, there will always be trials that come our way.  Our focus should not be on how are WE going to get through them, but seeking the one who will get us through them.

As I reflected on this question with the Lord, he showed me several events in my life where He has opened the sea for me to walk thru and once I was safe on the other side, he closed it!  And in closing it, he took down all the power it had over me just like he did when “Pharaoh’s horses, chariots and horsemenwent into the sea, the Lord brought the waters of the sea back over them, but the Israelites walked through the sea on dry ground.” ~Exodus 15:19

  1. Smoking – I smoked for over 17 years.
  2. Diet Coke – I would drink (2) 2 liters and 5 cans a day, now to drinking water & tea.
  3. Diet pills – I consumed diet pills for over 6 years.
  4. Greif – God has walked me through the grieving process of my father, only sister and a miscarriage.
  5. Co-Parenting – This has been a blessed journey to say the least.  To see how God has grown me and my family is remarkable.
  6. Forgiveness – God has taught me how to forgive those in my family that hurt me the most when I needed them the most. 

Rather than fear and forget, let’s look back and give praise knowing His sovereign hand will be our guide.  

He has never failed and He WON’T start now!

2HIMIGO,

Amanda

Leave a comment